Sold to the Lady in the Second Row…

Going, going, gone!…

My wish was answered.  I had been a huge proponent of being a seller at the trading deadline, and in the end, Team Hal saw the view of the world the same as I.  Without any doubt, it was an incredibly painful experience.  I loved having the three-headed beast in the back end of the bullpen, and Andrew Miller was easily my favorite Yankee.  But as I played over and over in my head, having the greatest bullpen in the history of baseball means nothing if you don’t have a supporting cast.

Bullpen

Credit:  Thomas A. Ferrara, Newsday

I thought that GM Brian Cashman did very well with his trades.  It instantly catapulted the Yankees to the upper echelon of premier farm systems when it wasn’t that long ago we were closer to the bottom.  The end of the latest Yankees dynasty came because the team didn’t pay proper attention to the farm system until it was too late.  Now, as the cream of the crop make their way to Yankee Stadium, the team will be in a much better position to add additional pieces to improve the talent and quality of the major league roster.  The bullpen may be more suspect, but the supporting cast will be much, much stronger, and in the end, it will bring more wins.

The future started this week with the call-up of top catching prospect Gary Sanchez.  It’s only been a few games but it feels like the changing of the guard.  I have to believe that it is virtual certainty the Yankees will try to move Brian McCann at the end of the season if not sooner.  Backup catcher Austin Romine holds better long-term value than McCann so I think the Yankees should throw in cash to entice the Atlanta Braves to take their former All-Star catcher.

The next call up should be outfielder Aaron Judge, although I really want to see what first baseman Tyler Austin can do in September.

Austin_Tyler_05-848x576

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRider’s Tyler Austin before a game against the Charlotte Knights at PNC Field in Moosic, Pa. on Tuesday, June 7, 2016. Photo by Martin Griff

Credit:  Martin Griff

The DL is going to miss Mark Teixeira…

Today, Mark Teixeira announced he is retiring at the end of the year.  This was the right move.  With his injury history in recent years, no team was going to pay him to be their starting first baseman next year.  There was no real chance that the Yankees would re-sign him.  It is time.  Teixeira now gets the opportunity to walk away as a Yankee.

usa-today-8727124.0

Credit:  Brad Rempel, USA Today Sports

I did not realize that Teixeira had hit nearly half of his career home runs as a Yankee.  It’s been eight years and is the longest time Tex has spent with any team including his original team, the Texas Rangers.

I saw a stat today that said the Yankees have only had four first basemen since 1983.  Don Mattingly, Tino Martinez, Jason Giambi, and Teixeira.  Unfortunately, that’s probably the order in which I liked them the best too.  Does this mean I will like the next first baseman even less?  Possibly, but the next first baseman should be the first homegrown Yankee since Mattingly.  The aforementioned Tyler Austin and the injured Greg Bird will enter spring training next year as the favorites for the position, along with Rob Refsnyder.  I like Bird, but I am very intrigued by Austin.  He responded very well to the position change to first this year and re-established himself as one of the top prospects in the organization.

I will be happy with either Austin or Bird, but I do hope that one of them takes the position by stranglehold and that it’s not just a process of elimination.  No offense to Refsnyder but he just doesn’t have the power to intrigue me as the regular first baseman.

Tex has had a great career.  I don’t know if it will lead to the Hall of Fame but he’s certainly put up numbers to be proud of.  He is one of the primary reasons the Yankees won the 2009 World Series.  Although I never fully embraced Teixeira, he was an excellent defensive first baseman and when healthy, one of the best power hitters in the game.  Sadly, the latter was an infrequent occurrence.

Still, I wish Tex nothing but the best as he moves on to his second career.

I hope it’s not Miller Time…

I am writing this post as the Yankees play the Cleveland Indians.  This is a very tough series to watch knowing that Cleveland has the premier closer on their roster.  Hopefully he doesn’t factor into tonight’s game.  But when he does appear, I hope he receives a standing ovation from the Yankee Stadium crowd.

AndrewMiller_1101001_640x360

Credit:  Jason Miller, Getty Images

Is it 2017 yet?…

—Scott

Leave a Reply

