Let’s get this party started…

The lull before the storm?…

I like Thanksgiving as much as the next guy (or gal), but from a baseball perspective, this week is generally no fun.  Not much trade activity (even if the Astros traded Jed Lowrie to the Athletics) or free agent signings (sorry Alex Avila, you are not a big ticket purchase).

funny-Stephen-Hawking-quote-quiet-people

The Yankees struck quickly with the acquisitions of outfielder Aaron Hicks and pitcher Ronald Herrera, but have been very quiet the last couple of weeks (aside from losing pitcher Chase Whitley to the Tampa Bay Rays).

Of the rumors, it was interesting to hear that Robinson Cano wanted to find his way back to New York.  True or untrue, that’s an acquisition that would not make sense to me.  I liked Cano as the Yankees’ second baseman, and he was arguably the best player on the team in his final years as a Yankee.  However, he is now 33 years old, coming off a disappointing year, and still carrying a bloated contract.  I would not want to see the Yankees pick up a contract that would take Cano to age 40.  Those last few years have the potential to be very, very ugly.  I prefer the present scenario which features a platoon with Rob Refsnyder and Dustin Ackley.  Part of me keeps hoping that Ackley will finally find the promise he once held, but truly Refsnyder is the key.  I want to see him play.  Maybe he is a miserable failure, but he deserves the chance to show that he can be a capable second baseman for the New York Yankees.

Rob Refsnyder, Hanley Ramirez

Boston Red Sox’s Hanley Ramirez is forced out at second base as New York Yankees’ Rob Refsnyder turns the double play on Mike Napoli during the second inning of a baseball game in Boston, Saturday, July 11, 2015. (AP Photo/Michael Dwyer)

MLB.com

I would love for the Yankees to be in on David Price but the realist in me knows that I should not hope for a top shelf signing.  I know that George Steinbrenner would be all over either Price or Zack Greinke, but Hal is not his father’s son.  Well, maybe he is by blood, but that’s it.  I would gladly accept a second tier free agent pitcher, but I am not sure the Yankees are even going there.  Based on recent reports, there is much to be excited about prospect pitcher Domingo Acevedo, and perhaps he is next year’s Luis Severino.  If the Yankees continue down the path toward youth, I don’t think they’ll be a legitimate World Series threat for a few years.

It’s too bad that the Yankees can’t find a way to unload an older guy like Alex Rodriguez or Mark Teixeira but they’d get too little in return.

It is exciting that Gary Sanchez has a legitimate shot at making the Yankees’ roster next year, although I think that inevitably he’ll be ticketed for AAA with Austin Romine taking the back up job that was held by former Yankee John Ryan Murphy last year.

When I first heard the Yankees connected with free agent outfielder Jason Heyward, I was somewhat lukewarm on the idea.  But as time as passed, I really like the potential of adding Heyward and trading Brett Gardner for positions of need.  It’s a given that 2016 will be the final year for Carlos Beltran as a Yankee so a 2017 outfield of Heyward, Hicks, and Jacoby Ellsbury looks pretty good to me.  It looks even better if Gardner, in combo with prospects, is capable of bringing in an upper tier starting pitcher.

Greg Bird, I really don’t want you to spend 2016 in AAA.  Fortunately, it’s an inevitability that Mark Teixeira will be wrapping his arms around the disabled list at some point.  Hopefully sooner than later.

I was in favor of acquiring third baseman Chase Headley, but I have to admit that my support is weakening.  I think he should be given one more year to prove that the yips are a thing of the past, but admittedly, I am hoping that prospect Eric Jagielo grows by leaps and bounds next year.

The next couple of weeks should be very interesting and will go a long way toward determining how successful the 2016 Yankees will be.  Hey Brian Cashman, no pressure…

quote-no-matter-how-tough-no-matter-what-kind-of-outside-pressure-no-matter-how-many-bad-breaks-billie-jean-king-58-29-80

New York’s a cake walk compared to Los Angeles…

As a Los Angeles resident, I hate that Don Mattingly will not be the manager of the local Dodgers.  I’ve been a Donnie Baseball fan since the day he arrived at the major league level with the Yankees.  But I do feel that the Dodgers made the best possible decision in choosing San Diego Padres bench coach Dave Roberts as their manager.  It wasn’t fun re-living all those stories about how Roberts helped the Red Sox beat the Yankees in the 2004 American League Championship Series, but he seems to me to be the best man for the job.  I like him much better than the previous frontrunner (Gabe Kapler).

Roberts_Steal_1280_c3vbj53a_9wzgvzaj

MLB.com

If anything is certain, the pressure on Roberts to succeed will be immense.

 

As for Mattingly, I will definitely pull for the Marlins so long as they are not playing the Yankees or the Dodgers.  I remain hopeful that Mattingly will one day find his way back to the Bronx.  He is and always will be a Yankee.

Well, time to go get the turkey ready for tomorrow.  Let’s hope that Cashman is not serving any turkeys any time soon.

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

HappyThanksgiving2-0001516

—Scott

 

Leave a Reply

