2015 was fun but on to 2016!…

Now the real season begins…

Admittedly, I didn’t watch any of the World Series games.  It was hard for me to get excited about either the Kansas City Royals and the New York Mets.  I was definitely not one of the Yankees fans that jumped on the Mets bandwagon.  Congratulations to the Royals for their championship as they truly played like champions to get the title (even if I didn’t see it).

The end of the World Series is good as it signaled the start of the Hot Stove League.  Of course, November tends to be a slower month, especially as we get closer to Thanksgiving.  But things should be humming this time next month.

Hamster-wheel

Hopefully, the Yankees do not have another off-season of inactivity.  The free agent market doesn’t look overly appealing but I doubt the Yankees will be big ticket buyers anyway since no large contracts are coming off the books.  Of the possible moves, I would support a move to sign Justin Upton and trade Brett Gardner.  When Gardner and Jacoby Ellsbury are on, they are a dynamite duo.  But it happened too infrequently last season due to injuries.  As for pitchers, I know the Yankees won’t spend the money for Zack Greinke, but either Jeff Samardzija or Jordan Zimmerman would be good.  I have heard the complaints about Samardzija and how he wouldn’t play at Yankee Stadium since he is a flyball pitcher, but he’s an innings eater.  With so many health risks in the starting rotation, it would be nice to have dependability in at least one spot (well, two if you consider Luis Severino).  Otherwise, the others are almost assured of being part of DL-R-US at some point in the season.

Aside from those guys, there really isn’t much that excites me.  I respect Ben Zobrist, but he’s on the wrong side of 30.  I understand Rob Refsnyder’s defensive limitations, but I’d still rather go with youth and potential at second over age even if it means sacrifice in the short run.  I like Dustin Ackley and keep hoping that he has a resurgence to reach some of the potential he had early in his career.  That one might be a pipe dream, but I am fine with Refsnyder and Ackley at second over bringing in a higher cost free agent.

I have my concerns about Chase Headley at third, but he’s not going anywhere.  Of course, there’s Mark Teixeira and it is inevitable that 2016 will be broken up by another stint or stints on the DL.  I am sure that Greg Bird will be a frequent traveler on the Scranton/Wilkes Barre to NYC Shuttle which is too bad since Bird has proven he can play at this level.  Just waiting for Teixeira’s contract to expire…

Nothing against Brian McCann but it’s too bad his contract is so long and that DH is occupied by Alex Rodriguez.  Gary Sanchez is starting to show the promise that we’ve known for so many years and it won’t be long until he’s knocking on the door at Yankee Stadium.  I like John Ryan Murphy, but Sanchez will push him aside when its time.

It should be a fun off-season.

Staying home…

I had hoped that GM Brian Cashman would go outside the organization to bring in a replacement for Assistant GM Billy Eppler who left to take the GM job with the Los Angeles Angels.  However, they stayed in-house and went with Tim Naehring although he won’t get Eppler’s Assistant GM job title.  I have no qualms with the choice (even if the guy is a Red Sock), but wish they had brought some new blood into the organization.

tim_naehring_autograph

I later read the Yankees reached out to former Boston GM Ben Cherington which would have been a good choice.  But I understand his reasons for staying out of the game for now.

Speaking of GM’s, I was shocked to see the sudden departure of Alex Anthopoulos.  He reinvigorated the Blue Jays with his bold moves.  He shouldn’t have a problem getting another gig but the timing wasn’t the best since all of the GM slots are presently filled.  Of all the good things I’ve heard about Mark Shapiro (the new president of the Blue Jays), I am surprised that Anthopoulos didn’t stick around at least one year to give it a chance.

Donnie Baseball in South Beach…

Congratulations to Don Mattingly for getting another job so quickly.  He’ll see some familiarity with guys like Dee Gordon (a former Dodger) but he’ll find it’s different going from a team that isn’t afraid of spending money to one that routinely shows its frugal ways.  But I’d take Giancarlo Stanton over Yasiel Puig any day of the week.  I am sure that Mattingly will miss Clayton Kershaw, but he should do well in Miami.  It didn’t work out for Joe Girardi and countless others, but Mattingly has the right personality and attitude to make it work.

CS0TWqJWUAAOGfZ

Twitter/@Marlins

As a Los Angeles resident, I’ll miss Mattingly heading the local team.  As for the Dodgers, it’s anybody’s guess who will be the new manager.  If they opt for Nebraska coach Darin Erstad, it would be funny to see an Angel as the Dodgers manager considering the Angels have a Dodger as their manager.  I am intrigued with the idea of Kirk Gibson given his history with the Dodgers, and of course, I think Dave Martinez is ready to be a manager and he has strong ties to Andrew Friedman from their days in Tampa.  Whomever gets the job will experience the incredible heat that Mattingly endured the last couple of years.  It’s funny that the Yankees job would be an easier one than the Dodgers, but times have changed.

—-Scott

One comment

  1. Pingback: Discover: Monday Around the Horn « MLB.com Blogs

Leave a Reply

