What have you done for me lately?…

End of a run…

Sadly, the 2015 postseason has meant the demise of Los Angeles Dodgers manager Don Mattingly.  Mattingly was always one of my favorite players so it was easy to cheer for the Dodgers as my second favorite or favorite NL team when I moved to Los Angeles.  I didn’t think Mattingly was ready to manage when he was a contender for the Yankees’ managerial position that ultimately went to Joe Girardi when Joe Torre left.  But since becoming the Dodgers manager, I felt that Donnie Baseball has grown every year.

img24129082

USATSI

The post-season is such a weird, frenetic time.  It’s not really about the best team in baseball as the St Louis Cardinals can attest but rather whichever teams are playing the best in October.  In shortened one or five game series, anything can happen.  For a team with a $300+ million payroll, the Dodgers had too many flaws.  A weak starting rotation after the big two of Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke, short on a few big or clutch bats, and the disadvantage to run into a New York Mets starting pitching staff that jelled at the right time (just ask the Chicago Cubs).

I’d have a very hard time pinning this one on Mattingly.  I know that he has not enjoyed playoff success, but his teams effectively compete year after year.  His time will come and he will be soaking in the bubbly at some future point.

I am hopeful that Mattingly is a big league manager next year.  Not crazy about the thought of the Miami Marlins, but they would be very fortunate to have him.

As a game strategist, I would clearly take Joe Girardi over Don Mattingly.  But man for man, the preference is Mattingly.  If I owned the Yankees, I could easily fire Girardi to replace him with Mattingly.  Of course, I’d also look for a very strong bench coach, but I think Mattingly does a better job of relating to people.

Maybe one day Donnie Baseball can make the return to the Yankees organization, but sadly, that time is not now.  So, I’ll cheer for him wherever he lands, wherever that may be.

Snooze alert…

Sorry, it’s just hard for me to get excited about the upcoming New York Mets-Kansas City Royals World Series.  I really have no interest in seeing either team become the latest World Champions.  I guess this is one of those years that I’ll have to impatiently await the start of the Hot Stove League.

funny_cat_689

Let the Bird fly…

I dislike reading the reports that first baseman Greg Bird may have to go back to the minor leagues.  He proved that he is major league ready and he’ll only get better.  I know that Mark Teixeira is the better defender, but I simply do not trust Teixeira’s ability to stay healthy.  I guess that’s part of the logic in sending Bird down.  Inevitably, there will be a point in time that he’ll be needed.  It’s too bad.  I would rather turn the page, and move forward with Bird today.  Then, look for a solid backup with good defensive skills.  In other words, I am ready for the Mark Teixeira Show to end its run in New York.

TORONTO, CANADA SEPTEMBER 22:  Greg Bird #31 of the New York Yankees hits a three run home run scoring Brian McCann and  Slade Heathcott putting the Yankees ahead 6-3 during the game against the Toronto Blue Jays at the Rogers Center on Monday, September 22, 2015. (Photo by Anthony J Causi)

TORONTO, CANADA SEPTEMBER 22: Greg Bird #31 of the New York Yankees hits a three run home run scoring Brian McCann and Slade Heathcott putting the Yankees ahead 6-3 during the game against the Toronto Blue Jays at the Rogers Center on Monday, September 22, 2015. (Photo by Anthony J Causi)

Anthony J. Causi

With so many heavy contracts still on the roster, it appears that the Yankees will be very limited in their ability to create roster flexibility this off-season.  I think it would be foolish to expect the same (or better) production from the older guys, like Alex Rodriguez.  Somehow, the 2016 Yankees need to be re-constructed knowing that there will be continued regression among the above 30 players. I know, an obvious statement, but not one that’s easy to do.  I would expect significant major league contributions at some point next season by Aaron Judge and Gary Sanchez.  But that will mean potential injuries to Carlos Beltran and/or Brian McCann.  Injuries break continuity and momentum.  I would rather do what it takes to eliminate or at least reduce the odds of injury.

Best of luck to Billy Eppler…

I was disappointed to see Billy Eppler go, but it’s a good opportunity for him to return to his native California as the new GM of the Los Angeles Angels.  Time will tell if his run is successful, but he certainly has the tools.  I know that I’d love to have Mike Trout as the core player on my team.

Longtime Yankees executive Billy Eppler, left, is greeted by Los Angeles Angels owner Arte Moreno during a news conference announcing Eppler as the new general manager for the Angels in Anaheim, Calif. on Monday, Oct. 5, 2015. The 40-year-old Eppler replaces interim GM Bill Stoneman, who took over after Jerry Dipoto quit his job at midseason following his latest disagreement with Scioscia, the longest-serving manager in baseball.  (AP Photo/Nick Ut)

Longtime Yankees executive Billy Eppler, left, is greeted by Los Angeles Angels owner Arte Moreno during a news conference announcing Eppler as the new general manager for the Angels in Anaheim, Calif. on Monday, Oct. 5, 2015. The 40-year-old Eppler replaces interim GM Bill Stoneman, who took over after Jerry Dipoto quit his job at midseason following his latest disagreement with Scioscia, the longest-serving manager in baseball. (AP Photo/Nick Ut)

AP

I am not sure if GM Brian Cashman has plans to replace Eppler, but if he does, I hope that he brings in new blood from the outside rather than promote from the old guard.  The commitment to youth is working, but sustainability is continuing to make the right decisions on players.  The Yankees have made a few too many poor player decisions, so this is an area that continually needs improvement.

I wish the Yankees could have found a way to keep Eppler, even if it meant moving Cashman up and out of the GM role.  But now that he’s gone, the Yankees need to find that next potential superstar GM to serve as Cashman’s chief lieutenant.

Is the World Series over yet?…  ;(

6050140d1f50ad5e65f2d374bf7205ed

—Scott

One comment

  1. Pingback: Discover: Monday Around the Horn « MLB.com Blogs

Leave a Reply

