Anxious for the Hot Stove League to begin…

The Element of Surprise…

The World Series is not yet over, but the 2014-15 Hot Stove League is already well under way.

The biggest shocker was the announcement that Tampa Bay Rays manager Joe Maddon had opted out of his contract to become a free agent.  While I knew that there was a financial gap between what Maddon would require upon the conclusion of his contract next year and what the Rays would be willing to pay, I certainly didn’t expect Maddon’s sudden availability.  Interesting that he had to be told about the two week clause to opt out of his contract should former GM Andrew Friedman depart, but clearly a signal that the Rays organization wants to show that they are more than the Friedman-Maddon show.  I’ve read that the Rays didn’t want Maddon playing as a lame duck manager next season and that makes sense.  Still, he is regarded as one of the best, if not the best, manager in baseball.

Tampa Bay Times

I had expected Maddon’s availability to put Don Mattingly on thin ice in Los Angeles, but publicly the Dodgers have stood behind Mattingly as their manager for 2015.  While I don’t think that Mattingly is the manager that Maddon is, I do believe that he eventually will be.  Mattingly has continued to improve in my eyes, and he deserves the opportunity to succeed with the Dodgers.  But it must be hard for new Dodgers President of Baseball Operations Andrew Friedman sit idly by while his close friend is available to the highest bidder.  With the only remaining managerial opening being in Minneapolis, it’s a given that if Maddon manages in 2015, a team will make a late decision to jettison their current manager.  Speculation that it will be the Chicago Cubs certainly makes sense, but I feel bad for Rick Renteria who did a very good job last year with the younger Cubs.

If I owned a baseball team, I’d certainly consider making a change to bring in Maddon.  It will be interesting to see where he lands.  I really doubt that he’ll sit out a year waiting for the next job.

Meanwhile, I certainly do not feel bad for the Tampa Bay Rays.  I am in favor of anything that weakens AL East Rivals, but I am sure that Tampa will be fine.

Strike One…

For the Yankees, they missed their guy when Chili Davis signed a three year deal to be the new hitting coach for the Boston Red Sox.  Chili was my personal favorite for the job, and had hoped for his reunion with the Yanks.  But it was not meant to be.  With Dave Magadan off the board, it’s anybody’s guess who will replace Kevin Long as the Yankees hitting coach.  Of the latest names, I do like the idea of the Yankees pursuing Rays hitting coach Derek Shelton or if they stay in house, someone like James Rowson.  Without strong clear cut options, it does make one wonder if the Yanks were premature in letting Long go.  It certainly didn’t take him long to find a new job in Flushing Meadow.  With his reputation, it was a certainty that he wouldn’t remain unemployed very long.

Mets Yankees Long.jpg

John Munson/The Star-Ledger

In retrospect, the Yankees should have kept Long and brought in an assistant hitting coach.  Regardless of who they hire as a replacement, I still think the Yankees should join the many team now employing two hitting coaches.  My personal favorite for that role continues to be Hideki Matsui.

A wasted roster spot…

With the World Series now tied up, I am hopeful that it goes the full seven games.  While I want the San Francisco Giants to win, I am not ready for the announcement that Alex Rodriguez has rejoined the Yankees active roster.  I am not looking forward to his return and I do not feel that he’ll be the productive player that he once was.  In my opinion, he’d look better someplace like Miami but the guy has no trade value unless the Yankees are willing to absorb what’s left on his inflated contract.  He is definitely the poster child against long-term contracts.  This has turned out to be one of the worst that I’ve ever seen.  The thought of three more years of A-Rod is so incredibly painful.  I sincerely hope that A-Rod’s presence does not deter the Yankees from re-signing free agent third baseman Chase Headley.

There was once a time that I thought A-Rod would never wear pinstripes again but sadly, it appears that I was wrong.  Of course, it’s not my money and the Yankees still owe A-Rod too much to just release him.

Assuming the Yankees do bring back Headley, the position that scares me the most next season is first base.  It’s hard to count on Mark Teixeira and when he plays, he is a shell of the player he once was.  It is looking like A-Rod will be playing some first base which brings its own questions.  I remain hopeful that Rob Refsnyder grabs second base in spring training.  As for Derek Jeter’s replacement at short, I think the answer is outside of the organization.  More than likely, it will be a short term solution.   Asdrubal Cabrera probably makes the most sense unless it is determined that his long term future is better suited for second base.

With the World Series set to end either Tuesday or Wednesday, I am sure that the Hot Stove League will start heating up if the last few weeks have been any indication.  No offense to either the Giants or the Kansas City Royals, but, outside of A-Rod, I am ready for the rebuilding of the Yankees to begin…

–Scott

Leave a Reply

